Welcome delegation from University of Castilla-La Mancha (UCLM)

On April 17, 2018, Director of Center for International Affairs (Assoc. Prof. Dr. Sirichok Jungthawan), Head of School of Chemical Engineering, Institute of Engineering (Assoc. Prof. Dr. Atichat Wongkoblap), School of Biotechnology, Institute of Agricultural Technology (Assoc. Prof. Dr. Apichat Boontawan), School of Mechanical Engineering, Institute of Engineering (Dr. Ekarong Sukjit),

The Center for Cooperative Education and Career Development (Ms. Kamonwan Banditsatisan).  hosted delegation from University of Castilla-La Mancha (UCLM), Spain at SUT Co-ordinating Office (Bangkok) and Teleconference Meeting Room (F7), Suranaree University of Technology (SUT). The delegation from UCLM was Head of the GCM Group (Fuel and Engines Group) (Prof. Magin Lapuerta).

The meeting was focused on an overview information between UCLM and SUT especially on the core expertise of the UCLM on student exchange, internship, work-integrated learning, student exchange semester, and other programs.

The University of Castilla-La Mancha (UCLM) is situated in the autonomous community of Castilla-La Mancha, with a surface area of almost eight hundred thousand square kilometres which covers the provinces of Albacete, Ciudad Real, Cuenca, Toledo and Guadalajara. The university district of the UCLM includes all provinces apart from Guadalajara so the institution has campuses in Albacete, Ciudad Real, Cuenca and Toledo. Likewise,it also own university sites at Talavera de la Reina (Toledo) and Almaden (Ciudad Real). Tradition and modernity, open spaces and infrastructure, proximity and comfort. These are the hallmarks that define the UCLM campuses located in average sized cities, which are university-orientated , accessible, peaceful and equipped with all services.


The campuses operate on a decentralised basis, although the main governing body is located in Ciudad Real, which coordinates the other centres. University courses are taught at all four locations. The Albacete campus houses Faculties of Medicine, Economic and Business Sciences, Law and Humanities. The Schools of Agronomical Engineering, Computer Science Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Nursing, Teacher Training and Employment Relations are also based there. Ciudad Real is home to the Faculties of Chemical Sciences, Law and Social Sciences, Arts, the Higher Technical Schools of Civil Engineering, Information Technology, Industrial Engineering; a Technical Institute of Agriculture; the Polytechnic University School of Almadén; a University School of Nursing; a University School of Teacher Training; and the Puertollano Centre for University Studies. Cuenca has the Faculty of Social Sciences, the Faculty of Fine Art, the Faculty of Educational Science and Humanities, the Polytechnic University School of Technical Architecture; the Polytechnic University School of IT in Telecommunications; the University School of Nursing; the University School of Teacher Training, and the University School of Social Work. Finally, Toledo houses the Faculty of Legal and Social Sciences, a Faculty of Environmental Science; a Faculty of Sports Science; a Humanities Faculty; a University School of Nursing and Physiotherapy; a University School of Industrial Technical Engineering; a University School of Teacher Training, and the CEU centre at Talavera de la Reina.


Report by Center for International Affairs